Live Events with PolarTREC Teachers in Antarctica

Live from IPY: Antarctic Undersea ROV (Second Event)
Tuesday, December 8, 2009 – 10am Alaska Standard Time [11am PST, 12pm MST, 1pm CST, 2pm EST] Live from IPY! with Michele Cross and the SCINI ROV Team.

Live from IPY: Dissolved Organic Matter in the Cotton Glacier, Antarctica
Wednesday,  December 9, 2009 – 8am Alaska Standard Time [9am PST, 10am MST, 11am CST, 12pm EST] Live from IPY! with Sarah Diers and the Dissolved Organic Matter team.

To register for these free event and to receive instructions on how to join

These events are hosted through the PolarTREC Live from the International Polar Year! program and allow participants to learn more about the polar regions. Participants will have a chance to ask questions and chat with others during the presentation.

Palmer Long Term Ecological Research Polar Blog

This year the Palmer LTER Education & Outreach Program launches Changing Your Latitude – an interactive blog expanded this year to include posts from researchers at Palmer Station and then later aboard the 230-foot icebreaker Laurence M. Gould. The Blog
You can track the ship, explore the environment with Google Earth, view more photographs and enjoy videos. Educators can download newly designed instructional materials that parallel the scientific research and encourage students to post questions directly to the scientists.

New Fellowship Program for Teachers at Under-Resourced Schools

The Society for Science & the Public (SSP) Fellows Program provides funds and training to help teachers at under-resourced schools guide students in performing high-quality independent scientific research. Fellows receive a stipend of up to $8,500 per year for up to four years, depending on proposed budget, demonstrated need, support of the school and needs of the student population.
For information about the Fellows program, or to apply visit Society for Science and the Public.

For questions, please contact Jennifer Carter at jcarter@societyforscience.org, or call 202-872-5140

Application Deadline:
January 15, 2010

Teacher Workshop at the International Polar Year Science Conference

Teachers are invited to an International PolarTEACHERS conference in Oslo, Norway, on June 6-12, 2010. The conference is part of and will be held in conjunction with the International Polar Year Oslo Science Conference.

Application Deadline:
January 20, 2010.

For more information or to apply, visit Polar Teachers, or contact Polar Teachers coordinator Karl Torstein Hetland  at karlth@online.no

Workshop for Elementary Teachers – Adaptation: Life in the Ocean

Participants in the workshop, Adaptation: Life in the Ocean at New England Aquarium will learn content and activities about the unique structures and behaviors that allow animals such as penguins, sharks and whales to survive in marine habitats around the world. In addition, participants will  learn how to use the Teacher Resource Center resources, such as kits and books, and Aquarium exhibits as teaching tools in the classroom.

Appropriate for teachers of grades K-5; teachers of other grades are welcome to attend.
Saturday, January 9, 8:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.
New England Aquarium Teacher Resource Center
Cost: $50
A certificate of participation is available to all participants. Ten  PDPs are available for participants completing an additional project with students in the classroom.
Advance registration is required. Please call 617-973-6590, or email the Teacher Resource Center at trc@neaq.org.

Contribute Your Ocean Story to NOAA Kiosk at Smithsonian Ocean Hall

Would you like more visibility for your ocean project? Consider contributing a brief ocean story, video or images to the NOAA Kiosk at
the Smithsonian Institution. Check out the website for information on how to do it.
Story proposals are accepted twice a year – the next deadline is January 30, 2010.

Job Opportunity – Outdoor Education Program Director, California

Camp Ocean Pines, on the California Central coast, has an opening for an outdoor education program director. This is a full-time, permanent position.  The Outdoor Education Director is responsible for development and implementation of a first-rate outdoor environmental education program.  He/She assists with marketing Camp programs to schools and building a reputation for quality.  Key responsibilities include: 1) staff leadership 2) program management 3) school relationships 4) increasing nature program offerings on and off-site to all ages. For details visit the Ocean Pines employment webpage.

Request for Proposals for Development of Middle School Curriculum

Weeks Bay National Estuarine Research Reserve, commonly referred to as Weeks Bay Reserve is seeking a qualified Vendor to assist with the development of a comprehensive curriculum focused on estuaries for grade levels 6-8. The Weeks Bay Reserve is part of the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, Lands Division, Coastal Section. The curriculum development will be under the direct supervision of the Weeks Bay NERR. Content will be developed by the contractor in collaboration with the Weeks Bay Reserve and other educators in the National Estuarine Research Reserve System. Vendors who are interested in preparing and submitting proposals will find a complete description of the services and requirements for this project by going to the Weeks Bay  website, in the education section, under k-12. Proposals submitted in response to this solicitation must comply with the instructions and procedures contained therein.  Proposals due by January 29, 2010.